top of page

50th Anniversary

Half a Century of Service to Church and Community
16 May, 1954  -  16 May, 2004

Mid-Island Council #3842
Knights of Columbus
Nanaimo, B.C.    Canada

Our Council was first established as a sub-Council of Port Alberni, Council #3435 in 1952. On May, 16 1954 we received our own charter and became a council in our own right under the name of Mid-Island Council #3842. It is so named because in its early days it served the entire mid-Vancouver Island region, stretching from Mill Bay/Shawnigan Lake to Qualicum Beach.

Our Council was started with a most unique inaugural class of 100 candidates. The initiation required two Exemplifications to confer all the degrees, both organized by Alberni Valley Council #3435 on Nov. 17, 1952 under the patronage of then District Deputy, Bro. J. Clayton. The Initiation banquet drew 340 guests! Our Council became only the 16th council in all of British Columbia and was long affectionately referred to as the "District Dynasty".

Under the leadership of Bros. Mladin Zorkin and Neal Beauchesne new councils were established over the years at Ladysmith, Duncan and Courtenay. A little later, Ascension Council was formed in Parksville by former D.D. Bro. Steve Cronin. In 1988 Trinity Council was formed here in Nanaimo by D.D. Bro. Claude Francoeur, and the Ladysmith council was re-activated in 2002 by D.D. Bro. Ed Landry.

We proudly and happily acknowledge our Charter Members:

Baker, Msgr. A.G.;  Baumel, Joe;  Campbell, J.;  Campbell, Joe;  Conroy, Tom;  Craven, Austin;  Day, P.J.; DeClark, H.P.;  Dore, Emil;  Endrizzi, Ray;  Erskine, J.D.;  Gannon, John;  Girard, John;  Gogo, Ken; Guedes, Richard;  Guedes, Roger;  Hall, G.W.;  Hanley, Rev. Phil;  Healey, Bill;  Hughes, Roy;  Jeffs, George;  Jeffs, John E. (Ted);  Johnston, Herb;  Lansdall, H.;  Loughlin, J.;  Luvisotto, Fred;  MacIsaac, Ron;  MacLellan, Joe (Earl);  Martin, Don;  McAdam, T.H.;  McCann, John;  Mochrie, Robert;  Pecnik, Fred;  Pellerin, O.A.;  Rathy, Les;  Ryan, John;  Sherry, John, Jr.;  Sherry, John, Sr.;  Smerchovsky, S.J.;  Smith, Norbert;  Stark, Joe;  Swan, Dr. H.;  Tothe, Joe;  Wildman, Ben;  and Zorkin, Mladin

Our Charter Executive:















Our Worthy Past Grand Knights:

Bud Enright; Mladen Zorkin; Joe Stark; Neal Beauchesne; Ron MacIsaac; Herbert Johnston; Reg Skelly; Ab Robertson; John Sherry, Sr.; John Souchuk; Elwood Sturton; Al Harvie; Donn Sherry; Guiseppe Multari; Martin Godley; Pat Young; Nick Tysowski; Gilles Brouard; Garrett Bardel; Claude Francoeur; Eugene (Curly) Greene; Bill Perry; John Pinto; Pat Hanney; Rene Marchand; Jim Mudge.

Click here to view the Anniversary Banquet Program

bottom of page